Girl Vs. Food

I’ve got to tell you – trying to write down a 2 year journey in a read-this-without-falling-asleep-first blog post… is kinda hard. I had to write that post several times, and I’m sure you’re bright enough to realize I left a LOT of stuff out, or dulled down the sharp edges into palatable terms.

Now I face the monumental task of sharing my journey towards whole body health, and I’m a bit stuck on where to start. I’m sorry if any of these posts aren’t fun to read, or sound repetitive. I love including others in my journey, always in hope that I may share some little tidbit of information that may reach out and mean something to someone who needs to read it. But I gotta say…

People’s dietary habits and exercise routines are boring as oatmeal. You know, the good for you kind. It is rare that one wants to hear about it, at least not for longer than 5 minutes. The thing is, sometimes that’s all that is going on in someone’s life.

wabacI’m going to pull a lever on the WABAC real quick, and let you know that about the same time as I decided to see Dr. L, I also thought I’d “really get my life together” and make an appointment with a nutritionist.

Ha. Ha ha. HAHAHAHAHAHA.

I had no concept back then about “do one thing at a time, and do it well.” I thought I could do it all at the same time, and a bang up job at that. Impossible. Some tiny, intelligent scrap of myself must have known this was a terrible idea, because I cancelled the appointment less than a week later, muttering something about rescheduling as I hurriedly got off the phone. I’m so glad I didn’t go to that appointment – I would have in NO way been ready for what was to come.

Fast forward to today, and throughout the last two years I can tell you I’ve: gone back to that diet that almost killed me, tried Weight Watchers, counted calories, tried the Paleo diet… No matter what I did, I’d always bounce around the same 10 pounds or so. On top of that, I started noticing more and more health problems happening. My psoriasis on my skin would flare up worse than ever. I had random aches and pains. I had a ton of digestive issues. Sometimes I felt more depressed or irritated than normal. I couldn’t sleep. My vision got more and more blurry. I had problems with my teeth. I constantly had a tickly throat, like the beginning of a cold, and lots of sinus drainage.

The most ironic thing was that my best friend was going through a lot of the same things as I was, but while I had sympathy and support to give to her, I mostly ignored my issues. I pretended they weren’t happening. She would complain of food and stomach pain, and I’d be suffering the same exact symptoms and tell her how sorry I was she was experiencing this. I had my head buried deep into the dirt.

3605753-1936874063-31646Late February of this year I had horrible, intense pain in my back for four days. I was so out of touch with how messed up my body was, I didn’t even realize that what I really had was full abdominal pain and I had no thought to associate the way I was feeling with what I was eating. The fourth evening the pain was so bad that I was crying, and I sent an emergency message out to the BEST GROUP OF FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS a girl could EVER ask for, and I got a response within 30 seconds from my friend Justin, who asked if I was okay. It felt whiny and weak to say, that I was not okay, but I was definitely NOT okay. Justin and his wife Julie came to my rescue immediately (I’m serious, they were at my house in 5 minutes. Superman should be ashamed of himself.) Justin and my friend Bambi ended up in care of my little boy, and Julie whisked me to Urgent Care (which turned into a trip to the ER) and stayed with me for like 8 hours. EIGHT HOURS. The news we ended up with was: my gall bladder had to go.

You would think that would have been proof enough to get me to mend my wicked food ways, but after surgery and a month of healing, I was back to McDonalds, sealing my trans fat, chemical laden, sugar and salt coated fate.

This summer, after enough experience and education with my best friend… Something in my stubborn, food-addicted brain finally decided to act, and I made an appointment with a nutritionist. Actually… the same nutritionist I had planned to see two years prior! This time I had full intention of keeping the appointment. I met with Dr. Joy of Custom Fit Nutrition and we agreed that with all of my symptoms, I should definitely have the LEAP blood test done and see WHAT. WAS. UP.

While I waited, I was keeping up the tradition of some of my worst food behavior EVER. With a lot of fear, I exported my bank statements for one full month and I found undeniable proof that myself and my family had been eating out almost every single day. That was a huge wake up call, and I vowed right then and there to go 30 days without eating out, cold turkey. I made it 28 days, which I think is pretty dang good.

Instead of eating out, I prepared my meals at home, mostly from scratch, and I started shopping as organic and/or GMO free as possible. I started feeling better and better, but I still wasn’t 100%, and I wondered and worried about what my LEAP test would tell me.

My test results finally came, and those 4 little vials of blood revealed some tough, but somewhat gratifying facts: I wasn’t just fat because I ate imperfectly… my body hated food! It was angry! It was fighting back! Take a look at this list:

10628234_10152742417200259_4777291902061583585_n

Those things are all the things I should not be eating. My best friend got a look at this list and said, “Who the $%@$^!# is allergic to quinoa?” I was eating almost all of these things, all the time. I suppose that is part of the problem. If you’re even a little sensitive to something, if you eat it frequently, your body keeps seeing it as a threat. This causes many, many problems, but one of the most mind blowing issues it causes is slow starvation. You end up:

  • hungry all the time (since your body doesn’t see your food as nutrition, it keeps asking for food)
  • fatigued (you are not getting energy!)
  • diseased (I think I covered that pretty well up above – tons of food issues come from eating foods your body is at odds with)
  • fat (starvation mode = no weight loss, and constant toxicity doesn’t make for good nutrition/deficit balance, either)

I had validation, and I had a challenge. I also had confirmation of one of the biggest mind-blowers for this fat girl:

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A ONE SIZE FITS ALL DIET PLAN.

I found it impossible to stick to all these different plans because I saw barely any results. If even generally healthy foods such as spinach, asparagus, and bell peppers were keeping me sick, there was no way that Weight Watchers or Paleo was going to be able to help me. I’m not saying this is the truth for everyone, but if you’re more than just “fat;” if you’re fatigued, achy, chained to the bathroom (sorry, keeping it real), itchy, cranky, and always hungry, SOMETHING IS UP.

In my next post I’m going to tackle the “what happened next, and what’s happening now” in my story. Thank you so much for reading all my long-winded posts. I wish health and happiness to all of you!

Leave a Reply

