Fitness geek?!

As many of you know, recently a very close friend of mine passed away. I will state here that it is highly unlikely that I will blog about him at any time, in a lengthy way. I choose to cherish most of my memories of him dear to my heart, and to keep them private. Thank you for all of your support and condolences; he is the first person to leave my life too early, and there is nothing else in the world like that kind of hurt. I am choosing to move forward in my life quickly, while harboring the sweet thoughts of who he was, knowing that I will never truly get over his loss, but seeking to not fall into so many pits as I have before. To honor him, now, more than ever, nothing will stop me from pursuing health.


These days, I’m a whole new woman in many ways. My personal goals are pretty much healthy food prep and to get myself to the gym. Along with all the wonderful blessings of this time of year comes all of the consumerism. Gifts between friends and family – there’s nothing wrong with that. Lately, though, my urge to CONSUME has been reduced. I am less and less inclined to get “stuff.” Be that as it may, there are things in this world that we need to get from point A to point B, and now that I’m getting into this fitness lifestyle, I have a few holes in my gear. This year, my wish list looks like this:

It cracks me up how excited I get about all of this fitness stuff. My best friend used to tell me about the cool compression shirt she found, or a pair of shoes that helps her stability and stance, and I pretty much humored her and did the smile and nod. I guess after 3 years of doing life together, she kind of rubbed off on me. 🙂

One thing standing in my way at this point is that it is VERY hard to find good workout clothes when you’re plus sized. Monday night after working out, I went to Fred Meyer to find THE MOST AMAZING WATER BOTTLE EVER. I was complaining to the cashier about the small (pathetic) plus size section, and how finding good plus size workout wear was so difficult. It’s kind of a slap in the face: you’re fat? Good, no working out for you, stay that way! I am working my booty off to get OUT of plus sizes, but on the way down, I need good athletic wear, and it’s very scarce – and expensive! Okay, all good quality workout wear is pretty pricey, but it’s hard to want to spend a ton of money on clothes I’ll shrink out of in a few months. Thank goodness for LB, which has a fairly good and extensive line of workout stuff, and lots of coupons. My awesome hubby is picking up two pairs of workout leggings for me tonight. They are pretty cool because they have compression. My New Balance running shoes will arrive tomorrow. Even my feet make finding workout gear difficult because I wear an 8.5 2E/WW (I call them double wides). After a ton of searching, I came across these gorgeous shoes (because let’s face it, normally I get nursing home shoes, amiright?):

shoe (1)My last pair of athletic shoes… which are over… um… probably 5 years old now (for goodness sake) were New Balance and so I’m a little biased, but I seem to do really well with them. I’m sorry for going on, and on, and on… but I’m really excited. Excited for fitness stuff!!! (So weird…) I have been friends with health nuts for years. I never thought I’d be one too!

Leave a Reply

